?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Little Willow [userpic]

Just Like That by Marsha Qualey

February 4th, 2008 (01:21 pm)
thirsty

Current Mood: thirsty
Current Song: I Could Get Used to This by The Veronicas

Just Like That explores the story of a teenage girl named Hanna. After breaking up with her boyfriend, she thinks she'll have a quiet moment to herself, sitting near the frozen-over lake late at night. She sees a slightly older couple, who urge her to come with them to be safe. She stays put. They warn her about the thin ice and depart. Shortly thereafter, a couple about her age drives by on an ATV, loud and giddy, teasing her. Lonely and cranky, she doesn't pass on the warning about the ice.

The next morning, she hears about their deaths on the news. She realizes she was the last person to see them alive - and that she might have been able to prevent their deaths. But she doesn't tell anyone that she was there, not even her mother, not even her two best friends.

And things start to change.

Soon, Hanna meets Will, someone else tied in with that night's events. She gets involved with him rather quickly. Just as quickly, she finds herself drawn into a family with hearts on their sleeves and skeletons in their closet.

Just Like That is highly realistic dramatic fiction in the vein of Sarah Dessen or Deb Caletti. It is a must-read book for anyone looking for a poignant story with true-to-life, flawed characters.

I included Just Like That on my Best Books of 2005 list.

Qualey has written many other books. I also read and enjoyed Too Quiet a Storm, which is about an eighteen-year-old girl's family, friends, and political activism during the Vietnam War.

Read my other posts about Wicked Cool Overlooked Books.

Learn more about WCOB at Chasing Ray.

Comments

Posted by: Heidi R. Kling, Author of SEA, June 10, 2010 (seaheidi)
Posted at: January 6th, 2008 09:25 pm (UTC)

that sounds like a really interesting plot line---thanks for the tip. i'll look for it.

Posted by: Little Willow (slayground)
Posted at: January 6th, 2008 09:45 pm (UTC)

Enjoy!

Posted by: ((Anonymous))
Posted at: January 6th, 2008 09:31 pm (UTC)

I remember reading this a few months ago! I thought it was a great book. It scared me at some points ... in a good way, though.

- Paige

Posted by: Little Willow (slayground)
Posted at: January 6th, 2008 09:44 pm (UTC)

I really enjoyed this book. I also read and enjoyed one of her other novels: Too Big a Storm.

Posted by: Shari Green (sharigreen)
Posted at: January 7th, 2008 12:03 am (UTC)

I read this one several months ago and thought it was excellent. I'll have to look for more by her.

Posted by: Little Willow (slayground)
Posted at: January 7th, 2008 12:04 am (UTC)

I also enjoyed TOO QUIET A STORM.

Here's her backlist:
http://www.marshaqualey.com/books.html

Posted by: Shari Green (sharigreen)
Posted at: January 7th, 2008 12:10 am (UTC)

Thanks!

Posted by: Little Willow (slayground)
Posted at: January 7th, 2008 12:17 am (UTC)

You're welcome.

8 Read Comments