June 6th, 2011

dreaming, When Rose Wakes, Christopher Golden

The Waking: Spirits of the Noh by Thomas Randall

Starting over in a place that's haunted by death...

The Waking, a frightening trilogy by Thomas Randall, will have teens glued to the page and scared to go to sleep.

Kara Foster thinks the hardest thing about moving to Japan will be fitting in as an outsider. But dark secrets are stirring at her new school. When Kara befriends Sakura, a fellow outsider whose rebellious nature sets her apart from the crowd, she learns that Sakura's sister was the victim of an unsolved murder on school grounds. And before long, terrible things begin to happen...

Now available: Book Two: Spirits of the Noh
Kara is finally starting to fit in at her boarding school in Japan -- after all, nothing bonds you with your classmates like having an ancient demon put a curse on you. Hoping life can go back to normal now that the demon has been put to rest, Kara joins her friends Sakura and Miho in putting on a play for the Noh drama club. It's the story of the Hannya, a snake demon who inhabits the body of a beautiful woman.

When a few members of the Noh club go missing, Kara fears that the real Hannya has been awakened by the curse. Then Miho is abducted, and Kara must find her before the Hannya destroys her. But the demon is wily, and may be hidden in the last place any of them would think to look.

Order Spirits of the Noh from your local bookstore or from: Amazon - Barnes & Noble - Borders - IndieBound - Published June 7th, 2011.

The first volume in The Waking trilogy, Dreams of the Dead, was named one of the NYPL Books for the Teen Age. The final volume in The Waking trilogy, A Winter of Ghosts, will be released in 2012. Learn more about the series and the author at THE WAKING website.