?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Little Willow [userpic]

Sisters by Raina Telgemeier

October 17th, 2014 (09:20 pm)
artistic

Current Mood: artistic
Current Song: Astronaut by Paris Carney

When Raina was little, she begged her parents for a sister. She thought a sister would be the best thing the world.

And then she got one.

Fast forward a decade, when Raina, her siblings, and her mother take a road trip from San Francisco to Colorado for a family reunion. Headphones help Raina tune out her family's bickering and blathering. But when she blocks out the world, Raina runs the risk of missing important things happening around her. Road trips can bring out both the best and worst in people. Things along the way remind Raina of previous events, and the flashbacks add to the story, rather than distract from it, as they are woven in at just the right time for just the right duration, true flashes. Were this a TV movie or an episode of a family dramedy series, one would compliment the tight script, the comedic timing, and the heartwarming moments and memories shared. The fact that this book was inspired by Raina's real life makes it even sweeter and more poignant.

Sisters is a follow-up to Raina's fantastic graphic novel Smile, which chronicled her sixth-grade dental drama. The two books can be read independently, if you'd like - and if you like one, you'll certainly like the other. Such is the case with all of Raina's graphic novels, which showcase her knack for telling stories readers can truly relate to as well as her signature style. Fans of For Better or Worse will definitely like her character's expressive faces and her realistic storylines.

Sisters is written and illustrated by Raina Telgemeier, with lettering by John Green and color by Braden Lamb.

Related posts at Bildungsroman
Interview: Raina Telgemeier
Review: The Baby-Sitters Club graphic novels
Review: Drama by Raina Telgemeier
What Makes You Smile?

Comments

Posted by: boothyisawesome (boothyisawesome)
Posted at: October 22nd, 2014 04:03 am (UTC)

I just read this over the weekend and loved it! I haven't read Smile yet (I may see if my library has it) but Sisters was really good.

Posted by: Little Willow (slayground)
Posted at: October 22nd, 2014 02:17 pm (UTC)

Definitely check out Smile.

2 Read Comments